Eric Drooker’s “Crucifixion”

Drooker Crucfxn

I appreciate you, my readers, so much! And I hope you’ll give this new, radical and edgy piece a chance.

This article is an interpretation of an image by Eric Drooker: Artist (who has over 30 covers for The New Yorker).

In this piece I examine and interpret how this art challenges the patriarchal nature (that even seeps into faith)… and I help us consider what empowering ideas might emerge if we dare to imagine.

As you read, you’ll see me say things like the quote below:

“I view this piece and know I can gather the hurting world in my womb. I can allow my feminine-specific suffering under patriarchy to be the conduit for my passionate pursuit of justice and my spark of love I extend toward others. For truly, I am the arms stretched out inside the fallopian tubes. The darkest night of my soul under patriarchy can become the very hope for others to find light.”

See more here:  https://eewc.com/provocative-representation-of-the-divine-feminine-eric-drookers-crucifixion/

 

Leave a Reply

